March 2 – Another makeup splurge

Smashbox – Photo finish light (oil-free) primer

Stila – acai crush lip and cheek stain

Stila – convertible color for lip and cheek in Petunia

Revlon lip butter – gumdrop/purple, cherry tart/red, cupcake/pink and tutti frutti/orange

Chanel – Vita Lumiere foundation #7 Ivory

Foundation Review

I was testing out between a few makeup foundation – Chanel Aqua Lumiere, Giorgio Armani Luminous silk, Giorgio Armani Designer Lift and LaMer foundation. Please note that I have a combination acne-prone hypersensitive skin. I’m oily on my T-zone and very dry on my cheeks. Also, I am quite pale. Therefore, I have no clue whether or not the foundation will work well with people with darker skin tones.

My favorite is the LaMer foundation; it is extremely moisturizing and feel great on my face. Note: I’m a devoted creme de LaMer fan. However, the price is high and I don’t want to buy two foundation – one for the winter and a less hydrating one for the summer. Although it should work fine during the summer in the US, it will melt in Thailand. Medium to full coverage. LaMer foundation is for people with dry skin or for the cold winter months.

Giorgio Armani designer lift is (i guess) better for older women. I bought this for my mom but thought I should test it out first. I’m around a #2 to #3 but bought a #3 for my mother. She’s a tiny bit darker than I am. I really don’t like this foundation. It’s drying on the skin and leave streak if you use any foundation brush other than GA’s own blender/foundation brushes. The foundation gave me a light to medium coverage. I got dry patches on my cheeks though. A word of caution though: its for people with normal to oily skin!

Giorgio Armani luminous silk foundation – i got the tester in #4. It glides on nicely on the skin. Works well when applied by Bobbi Brown’s foundation brush and by my finger tip. It is really easy to blend in with your skin. Give a natural finish. I really like this product! Its quite heavy though, I say it gives a full coverage with slight glow. I had this on when I attended the BU Thai Night. So you can see the pictures from there. This foundation is for people with normal and combination skin/on the oily side.

Chanel Aqua Lumiere #10 Beige. I like how light and sheer this foundation is. Blends in easily when using a makeup brush. Fingers can also be used for a sheer finish. It only works well only on my T-zone though. Left very dry patches on both my cheeks. It looks horrible! When I walked to the Chanel makeup counter at my local Saks store, the SA immediately notice that I had something on my face and told me that its too drying. So I would recommend this foundation for people with oily skin.

Chanel Vita Lumiere #7 Ivory gives a dewy glow finish. If you don’t like the glow or want a fuller coverage then don’t forget to set it with powder. I personally like the dewy finish. It makes my face look healthier and full of radiance. However, my combo skin makes it oily after a while. So I always use translucent powder and keep pressed powder in my purse. This foundation is the one I decided to buy over GA’s luminous silk because it is lighter which will work better in Thailand when I go back for the summer. Made for combination to dry skin.

20120303-125833.jpg

20120303-125837.jpg

Leave a Reply

